Week 5 Class Post
Reflection on how your connections facilitate learning. How has your network changed the way you learn?
I believe that I would not have been successful in my education without the resources offered by the library. Being able to access resources via the internet through library databases is invaluable.
Also, with the availability of technology and the internet makes learning for an adult much more convenient.
• Which digital tools best facilitate learning for you?
Databases offered through the Library Portal
• How do you gain new knowledge when you have questions?
If I have questions I start out with just doing a Google Search because answers found this way may be written in layman terms and easier to understand. I then take the information I have read and got to the library website and search databases in order to confirm the information that I have accessed and determine if it reliable.
• In what ways does your personal learning network support or refute the central tenets of connectivism?
“Connectivism is driven by the understanding that decisions are based on rapidly altering foundations. New information is continually being acquired and the ability to draw distinctions between important and unimportant information is vital. (Siemens, 2005, para. 24).
I think this quote is a great way to look at connectivism today with the internet and how information comes at us at break neck speed. I think it is more important than ever in an educational setting that the information you are accessing if from a reliable source. Library databases get information from professional or experts and facts are checked. I may read newspapers and magazines articles on the internet. But when it comes to college papers I relay on libraries.

Leave a Reply

